…storytime, books, apps, and ideas

Feeling crafty

I’m preparing for a Halloween storytime and a couple of Teen programs, and I’ve been looking for some fun crafts.  For the teen program, I needed a skull template for decorations  (they’ll be cutting out black skulls for decor).  I found the perfect template on the Hello! Lucky blog.  Once I had copied it onto cardstock to use as a tracing template, I realized it made a very nice template for Day of the Dead skulls.  So I made one! Inspiration for these is easy to find, just do a search for “Day of the Dead Skulls” and you’ll find lots –a Google image search yielded many ideas.  I think it could work with preschoolers if you pre-cut the skull shapes, and let them go with glue and collage materials, maybe glitter, too. For school-age, I’d have them do the cutting, and have them search for images in books or online. It took me about 20 minutes to do mine (including a search for beads and yarn). A perfect craft for the end of  October, and you can add some multicultural into the program by sharing what these skulls & Dia de los muertos are all about.
So– how I did it:  Photocopy 4 skulls onto brightly colored cardstock. Cut out (for preschool). Use collage materials — yarn, beads, glitter, sequins, paper, etc to decorate. I glued mine onto another piece of paper just to make it more finished looking. You could make several and they’d be great decorations hung all around the room.

Comments on: "Feeling crafty" (1)

  1. Reblogged this on Adventures of Fourth Graders and commented:
    Reminds me of my time in Mexico…. can’t wait to share the Mexican “Halloween” with you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

