…storytime, books, apps, and ideas

Who’s afraid of the Big Bad Wolf? Babs sure isn’t, and you shouldn’t be either. Long ago when I was a newly minted librarian, I saw this performed at a library conference. I’ve made at least 3 different versions of this fun flannel story, and left them at the libraries that I worked for. Besides the felt figures, you’ll need these three things: a wolf puppet, a recording of Barbra Streisand’s “Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf” (on her album The Barbra Streisand Album, available on iTunes for only 99 cents!), and a device to play it on.

Now once you have all that, all you have to do is place the figures on the board as Ms. Streisand sings, and be very silly with your wolf at the end of the song. Of course, you can use these same figures to just tell the story of the Three Little Pigs, but I think any chance to play Barbra Streisand songs at storytime should not be passed up.

Here are the figures I made using clip art and images found via a Google search. Wolf puppet is in the corner!

The second image is a close-up of the brick house and Pig number 3.

You can see today’s Flannel Friday roundup at Library Quine’s blog!

Comments on: "Flannel Friday- 3 Pigs" (11)

  1. “Any chance to play Barbra Streisand songs at storytime should not be passed up.” Amen!

  2. Such a lovely idea, and I so want to steal your wolf!
    You’ll find this and other great Flannel Board ideas on the Flannel Friday roundup at loonsandquines.blogspot.com.

  3. Very cute idea!

  4. Recipe for Reading said:

    I love this idea of playing Barbara Streisand songs in story time–I think the kids and the parents will all love it! How much fun!

  5. Erica said:

    VERRRRY nice flannel board pieces. I like using fabric on my FB pieces as well. And I too, love your sentiment, “Any chance to play Barbara Streisand songs at storytime should not be passed up.” Indeed. Now, off to explore your blog a little bit more!

  6. LOL! I don’t think I have ever used Ms Streisand at a storytime so this would be a first for me!

    How did you make thecroof and door look like that in the last picture? I like it!

    • Sorry! Should read ” the roof”.

    • Fabric! Fabric is the answer to many things. I am a quilter so I have tons of patterned fabrics, and I always keep an eye out for “nature” fabrics– stones, wood, grass, etc. You can buy small amounts of these fabrics and use them in so many ways…

  7. What a fun trip down memory lane! Haven’t heard this song in ages.

  8. It’s such a great idea to do a flannel board to music. How fun! I love the detail on the houses, too.

  9. I have a wolf puppet that would be perfect for this. And I think I better go through my fabric stash and put some pieces aside. Thanks for the tips.

Leave a Reply

